August 11, 2016

The Skeleton Canyon Treasure #RomanticSuspense @Kris_Bock #RLFblog

This quick interview includes info about the author, and introduces the story.

About the Author

Kris Bock writes novels of suspense and romance with outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes. Fans of Terry Odell, Mary Stewart, Victoria Holt, and Barbara Michaels will love Kris Bock!
The Mad Monk’s Treasure follows the hunt for a long-lost treasure in the New Mexico desert. In The Dead Man’s Treasure, estranged relatives compete to reach a buried treasure by following a series of complex clues. In The Skeleton Canyon Treasure, sparks fly when reader favorites Camie and Tiger help a mysterious man track down his missing uncle. Whispers in the Dark features archaeology and intrigue among ancient Southwest ruins. What We Found is a mystery with strong romantic elements about a young woman who finds a murder victim in the woods. In Counterfeits, stolen Rembrandt paintings bring danger to a small New Mexico town.

Interview with Kris Bock

Why did you write this book?
I live in New Mexico and I love outdoor activities such as hiking and rock climbing. I’m also fascinated by stories of buried or lost treasures, and there are many of those throughout the Southwest. My Southwest Treasure Hunters novels combine stories of treasure hunts with outdoor adventures.
The first book in the collection, The Mad Monk’s Treasure, was inspired by the legend of the Victorio Peak Treasure: a heretic Spanish priest’s gold mine, made richer by the spoils of bandits and an Apache raider. It introduced Camie as the main character’s best friend, and it also included Camie’s extraordinary cat Tiger. They make minor appearances in the second book, The Dead Man’s Treasure. My latest title features Camie and Tiger in a new adventure, inspired by another legend: the Skeleton Canyon Treasure. Each of the Southwest Treasure Hunters novels stands alone in this series mixing action and adventure with light romance.
What is your favorite genre to read?
I read pretty widely, from classic mysteries and cozy mysteries to romantic suspense, historical romance, and middle grade novels. In any genre, I tend to prefer plot-driven novels with plenty of action but not much violence.
Who is your favorite character from fiction (not including your own)?
I pondered this for a while and could not come up with an answer. I like to become the character when I’m reading, so I like relatively ordinary people who are put in unusual circumstances.
What are you working on at the moment, and will see from you in coming months?
I write a lot of children’s books for educational publishing, so I have a number of fiction and nonfiction books for kids coming out in the next year or so. A fun one is The Genie’s Gift, a lighthearted action fantasy that draws on the mythology of The Arabian Nights. I write for children under the name Chris Eboch.
I’m also about to start a new cozy mystery series. The main character is a war correspondent forced into retirement at age 50 after being shot on the job. She returns to her hometown to live with her father and has to come to terms with her new life. Of course she gets dragged into mysteries, which she’ll be able to handle because of her background.
Please tell us about your latest book.
Camille Dagneau – beautiful, brilliant, and prickly – isn’t quick to trust, especially when a strange man has broken into her machine shop at night. Ryan MacAllister insists he’s merely looking for his missing uncle, who has disappeared while hunting for a lost treasure. He believes Camie is the key to finding the treasure, and his uncle. Camie can ignore the attraction she feels, but she won’t pass up the chance for an adventure.
Following the clues in the missing man’s journal will take Ryan, Camie, and her feisty cat Tiger on a trail through New Mexico and Arizona. They’ll investigate the Tombstone graveyard at night, uncover clues in museums, and ultimately explore Skeleton Canyon, where rumor says nineteenth-century cowboy bandits hid their treasure in a cave. They’ll face many dangers to rescue Ryan’s uncle, but trusting each other may be the biggest challenge.
If you love suspense and romance, don’t miss this gripping adventure!

About the Book

Title The Skeleton Canyon Treasure
Genre Romantic Suspense
Author Kris Bock
Book heat level (based on movie ratings): PG

Buy This Book

Author Social Media

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...